Our Story

Wairarapa Cricket Association is one of the smallest cricket districts in New Zealand, but it is one with a proud history.

Formed in 1894-95, Wairarapa Cricket has celebrated it share of on-field provincial success at all levels, including the primary symbol of Minor Association cricket in New Zealand, the Hawke Cup. This Trophy first came to the Wairarapa district in 1920 for a year, before returning again in 1950. Between 1976 and 1979 Wairarapa withstood seven challenges in a famous defensive campaign. As recently as the 2011/12 season, Wairarapa were the Furlong Cup (Central Districts) champions and traveled to play Hamilton in an unsuccessful challenge.

The Association can also boast about the development of a number of past and current Black Caps, White Ferns, First Class cricketers, and Major Association age-group representatives who have all plied and learned their trade within the region.

Current Black Cap Ross Taylor was raised in Masterton and played his junior cricket for Lansdowne, attended Wairarapa College where he played 1st XI cricket as well as represented Wairarapa at the JCB rep level. Recently selected Black Cap Seth Rance is a product of the Greytown Cricket Club, where he still plays when his commitments allow, and also attended Wairarapa College playing 1st XI cricket for the school. Jesse Ryder was born and raised in the district and was a member of Red Star Cricket Club as a junior. White Fern, Elizabeth Perry, played for Lansdowne Cricket Club as a junior, attended Chanel College and played senior womens club and representative cricket for Wairarapa.

Other recent players of note include Michael Mason who was born and raised in the Wairarapa playing junior cricket for both Greytown club and Wairarapa JCB rep teams. Doug Bracewell (nephew of Wairarapa and Central Districts stalwart of the same name) had 4 years of schooling at Rathkeale College.

The Bracewell name is also represented past New Zealand representative performers from the district – notably Brendon played for the Wairarapa in the 1970’s. NZ representative left-armer Richard Collinge attended Wairarapa College and played for the province, whilst Keith Thompson, Mike Shrimpton and even Roger Twose represented Wairarapa and New Zealand at various stages.

As at the 2016/17 season Wairarapa are also able to boast Melissa Hansen (ex-Wairarapa College & Lansdowne), Esther Lanser (ex-Wairarapa College) and Anlo van Deventer (ex St Matthews) amongst the ranks of the Central Districts Hinds, whilst Stefan Hook-Sporry (Wairarapa College and Lansdowne) and Dean van Deventer (Rathkeale and Red Star) played for Central Districts A with Hook-Sporry being selected for a CD Stags playing XII at during the season.

The Wairarapa Cricket Association currently has three active Premier Mens clubs – Lansdowne, Red Star and Greytown (which is the second oldest cricket club in New Zealand, est. 1867 and celebrated its 150th in February 2017). The premier competitions are complemented with the inclusion of a team from Rathkeale College and one from the Hutt Academy. The Wairarapa College 1st XI currently competes in a Wellington College competition. The region has a growing mens open grade competition with a number of additional club teams, including Marist Old Boys and Carterton. You can find more information about the various competitions on our Men’s Cricket page.

In the 2016/17 season a Womens Club competition (Wairarapa Womens Premier League) was re-established involving two WCA hosted sides, the Blaze and the Fury, competing against three college 1st XIs – Wairarapa College, St Matthews and Solway College. More information on our female game can be found by following this link.

At secondary schools level there are various competitions catering for school 1st and 2nd XIs, Saturday morning Colts teams as well as a social Thursday T20 competition. Further information on Secondary Schools cricket can be found here.

For a list of senior club and secondary school contacts please refer to our Clubs & Schools Page

The WCA is especially proud of sustained and excellent growth in both female cricket and with junior club competitions. Carterton, Eketahuna, Martinborough and Hadlow School together with a number of the major senior clubs field teams across a range of competitions. For more information please refer to our Junior Cricket page.

As at 2016/17 the WCA had 1082 cricketers registered in local competitions across all grades and ages. This represents the first time for close to three decades that more than one thousand people were participating in WCA organised cricket. On top of this, the Development delivery programs provided by WCA staff saw close to 2,600 school children participate in a variety of cricket related activities. More information about this delivery can be found on our Schools Programmes page.

All information about 2017/18 competitions and the WCA community can be found via our comprehensive handbook