Wairarapa Cricket Association

Official Home for all Cricket Reports, Draws, Points, Stats & Administration

Latest Local Cricket News

  • Wairarapa Invitation Teams versus Hutt Districts Hutt Districts teams to compete in Wairarapa On Sunday 1 February 2015 five teams from each of Hutt Districts and Wairarapa will participate in what is hoped will become an annual home & away exchange between the two Associations. Three boys team (year 5, year 6 & year 7) and two girls teams (junior and U/15) ...
  • Wairarapa Development Girls take on Wellington Wairarapa Girls Development Team:
Back Row:  L to R:  Ocean Bartlett, Charlotte Glennie, Gloria Hickey, Jorja Younger, Olivia Clark, Nick Glennie (Coach)
Front Row:  (L to R):  Emma McLeod, Jessica Roseingrave, Emily Glennie, Tui Dugan, Elizabeth Cohr
Lying Down:  Ella SoutheyThe Wairarapa Development Girls Team On Friday 23 January, Wairarapa Development Girls had their first ever fixture against another province with a game versus Wellington U/13 at QE II Oval.  Two 20/20 games were played (so a long day in the sun for some young girls). First was a modified format to ensure everybody bowled and ...
  • Wairarapa Cricket Draw 29 Jan 2015 – 1 Feb 2015 Please see below the draw for this week’s and weekend’s games: Hutt Districts Exchange Sunday 1st February 2015: Team Venue Start Time Under 15 Girls QE Park 10.30am Under 13 Boys Wairarapa College no. 3 10.00am Junior Girls MIS 10.45am Year 6 Boys Greytown 10.00am Year 5 Boys Park Sports 1 10.20am   The Rock T20 Premier Grade Semi-Final 29-Jan Thurs Top Pub Greytown vs Lansdowne QE Park 5.00pm   Bidwill Cup Draw 31-Jan Sat Burger King Red Star vs Lansdowne QE Park 12 noon 31-Jan Sat Top Pub Greytown Bye   The Rock T20 Open Grade ...
  • Wairarapa Senior Cricket Draw 22-24 Jan 2015 Please see below the draw for this week’s and weekend’s games: Furlong Cup (Hawke Cup Zone 2) Saturday 24th January 2015 & Sunday 25th January 2015:  Wairarapa Senior Men vs Hawkes Bay to be played in Onga Onga.  Both days play starts at 10.30am The Rock T20 Premier Grade Draw 22-Jan Thurs Top Pub Greytown vs Rathkeale Greytown 5.00pm 22-Jan Thurs Burger King Red Star vs Wairarapa College QE Park 5.00pm Lansdowne Bye   24-Jan Sat Rathkeale vs Burger ...
  • Wairarapa Development Green Riverbend Tournament Report Back (L to R):  Charlie Oldroyd, Joe Quinn, Ralph McLeod (captain), Thomas Williams, Mark Steventon, Jamie McLeod
Kneeling (L to R):  Zac Te Maro, George Tanner (Vice Captain), Hunter Wyeth, Craig Pankhurst, Willie Matthews, Jack Lovell  The Wairarapa Development Green Riverbend Tournament took place from 12th January to 15th January 2015.  The first game saw them up against Southwell in a 40 over game.  The grass pitch they played on had variable bounce and the outfield was very slow.  The bowlers did very well to restrict Southwell to 128 for 8 ...
  • Wairarapa Senior Cricket Draw 15 Jan – 17 Jan 2015 Please see below the draw for this weekend’s games: The Rock T20 Premier Grade Draw 15-Jan Thurs Lansdowne vs Wairarapa College QE Park 5.00pm 15-Jan Thurs Top Pub Greytown vs Burger King Red Star Greytown 5.00pm Rathkeale Bye   17-Jan Sat Burger King Red Star vs Lansdowne QE Park 12 noon 17-Jan Sat Rathkeale vs Wairarapa College Rathkeale 12 noon Top Pub Greytown Bye   17-Jan Sat Top Pub Greytown vs Wairarapa College Greytown 4.00pm 17-Jan Sat Rathkeale vs Lansdowne QE Park 4.00pm Burger King Red Star  Bye   The Rock T20 Open Grade Draw 15-Jan Thurs Turkey Red Greytown OB vs Lone Star Greytown Billy Goats Kuranui Art 5.00pm 15-Jan Thurs Lansdowne 3 vs Lansdowne 2 Park ...

Wairarapa Cricket Association is one of the smallest cricket districts in New Zealand. But it is one with a proud history. Formed in 1894-95, Wairarapa Cricket currently has four active senior clubs – Lansdowne, Red Star, Marist Old Boys, and Greytown (which is the second oldest cricket club in New Zealand). The senior competitions are complimented with the inclusion of teams from Wairarapa College, Rathkeale College, and Kuranui Old Boys. In the junior section we have representation from all of the above as well as Martinborough, Carterton and East Coast.

Locally we run four levels of competition, Premier where teams battle it out in Two Day and One Day competitions on Saturdays and the T20 competition on Thursday evenings, Second Grade where there is a One Day competition which splits into two sections after a full round of competition and also a T20 competition.  At secondary schools level we run a Junior competition.  A number of our secondary school teams play in our senior and open grade competition.  Junior Cricket (JCB)  is played at three levels, Kiwi and Incrediball on Fridays and Hardball on Saturdays.

As well as local competitions we are proud of the success our small district produces in the representative arena with teams competing at Senior Hawke Cup and Chapple Cup level down through development sides, under age teams and junior.  Wairarapa has had three periods of holding the prestigious Hawke Cup – the main trophy for district cricket. Firstly from 1920-21 to 1921-22, then again in 1950-51, and finally from 1976-77 to 1978-79, withstanding seven challenges.

Our new restructured website has been put together as a central point for all Wairarapa cricket clubs, schools and social players to be able to check draws, send in results, view competition points and read news reports about rep matches, club games, inter-schools, special fixtures, our sponsors, coaching and development and any other information related to cricket in the Wairarapa.

We also hope that the website will be useful for visitors from outside the district wishing to find out cricket information from the Wairarapa District, whether it be history, contact details, or seeing who is performing in the local club and representative teams.

Sign up for our newsSince you are interested in us, we are interested in you.
To retain this interest we would like to stay in close contact with you, through newsletters and all events associated with Wairarapa Cricket.
Sign up here to join our database